SHORTLISTED: The Starman and Me - Signed by Sharon Cohen

  • £6.99


The Starman and Me - Signed by Sharon Cohen

SHORTLISTED for the Awesome Book Awards 2019
Shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2018
Shortlisted for the Essex Book Awards 2018

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond

'A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders ... heartily recommended'  — The Bookbag

He wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.

Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted...

Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.

Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...

THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

'The blend of archaeology and neuroscience makes this a compelling premise. This debut offer much food for thought for readers of nine-plus.' — Irish Times

'...this is an astonishing story, a lyrical and beautiful work of art' — Armadillo Magazine

'ET and Dobby meet Stig of the Dump in this page turning adventure' — Essex Book Awards 2018 - Shortlisted Title

'This is a fascinating story with quite disturbing undertones to really make us analyse the way we look at, and treat, others. With plenty of humour and pathos, it touches all our emotions and has enough twists to keep us gripped to the end.' — Primary Times

Biographical Notes

Sharon Cohen loves to explore themes of 'ancient' and 'cutting edge' and intertwines these elements into her stories. After graduating with a first-class science degree and a doctorate earned catching swans and studying their parasites, Sharon became a scientific writer. Her passion for children's fiction emerged following the birth of her first son and she completed the Open University Children's Literature course, gaining a distinction. 

She has three children and lives with her husband, an ex-international sprinter. THE STARMAN AND ME is her debut novel.
2FOR1 Awesome Awards Event Fiction Mid-Grade Paperback Signed Copy